The main objective of SADC is to achieve development and economic growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa and support the socially disadvantaged through regional integration.


These objectives are to be achieved through increased regional integration, built on democratic principles and equitable and sustainable development. The countries of Southern Africa have adopted a framework of co-operation based on:

  1. Deeper economic co-operation and integration, on basis of' balance, equity and mutual benefit, providing for enhanced investment and trade, and freer movement of factors of production, and goods and services across national borders;
  2. Common economic, political, social values and systems, enhancing enterprise and competitiveness, democracy and good governance, respect for the rule of law and the guarantee of human rights, popular participation and the alleviation of poverty; and
  3. Regional solidarity, peace and security, in order for the people of the region to live and work together in peace and harmony.

Member States:

  • Angola
  • Namibia
  • Botswana
  • Seychelles
  • DRC
  • South Africa
  • Lesotho
  • Swaziland
  • Malawi
  • Tanzania
  • Mauritius
  • Zambia
  • Mozambique
  • Zimbabwe

Contact Details:

SADC Secretariat Tel: (267) 35 1863
P.O.Box 0095 Fax: (267) 372 848
Gaborone, Botswana